What if You Crash Your Car With an Expired Tag?
February 24, 2022
If you were involved in a car crash while driving with an expired tag, you may wonder how it may affect your legal options.
Can you still file an injury claim against the at-fault driver? Will you be ticketed or face other penalties? What if your vehicle was struck by a vehicle with an expired tag?
Bernstein & Poisson discuss crashes involving a vehicle with an expired registration tag and how it impacts an injury claim.
Our knowledgeable car accident lawyers in Las Vegas are prepared to help you after a crash. If your tag was expired and you are unsure of your legal options after a crash you did not cause, we may be able to help. Call our firm to discuss your situation in a free, no-obligation consultation.
Concerns You May Have After a Crash With an Expired Tag
Drivers have concerns after any car crash. However, if your vehicle’s registration had expired, there are additional issues to consider:
- If you caused the crash, will your insurance company pay for the damages?
- If you were not at fault, can you file a claim against the at-fault driver?
- What kind of legal trouble could you be in for driving with an expired tag?
- What if the at-fault driver is the one with the expired tag – can you still seek compensation for your losses?
These are real issues and concerns if you had a crash while driving with an expired tag. These are also some valid reasons for speaking with a qualified attorney. He or she will be able to assess your situation and determine what legal options may be available to you.
Can You File a Claim Against the Other Driver if Your Tag Expired?
Being involved in a crash while driving with an expired tag does not necessarily bar you from filing a claim. However, it will make your claim more challenging. We recommend that you seek legal help from a licensed attorney immediately. He or she will be able to determine what laws and other factors may impact your ability to file a claim.
Nevada’s Modified Comparative Negligence Rule
If you are blameless in the crash, having an expired tag does not erase the at-fault driver’s negligence. If you are partly at fault, you will still be responsible for your percentage of the damages. However, under the state’s modified comparative negligence rule, you may still be able to seek compensation. To be eligible, you must not be more liable (51 percent or more) than the other driver.
Will Your Insurance Company Cover Any Damages if You Are to Blame?
If you were at fault for the crash, your insurance company will likely deny your claim. If your insurance company refuses to pay, you could be held personally responsible for the damages caused by the crash.
Every case is different. Sometimes a simple oversight can explain why a driver’s registration tag had not been renewed in time. An attorney can review the details of your case and explain what you can likely expect in your situation.
Does Nevada Have Penalties for Driving With an Expired Tag?
Yes. It is illegal to drive without a valid registration in Las Vegas and throughout Nevada. This requirement applies as follows:
- New residents have 30 days from their move date to sort out registration, license and insurance
- Existing residents who purchase a new or used car have 30 days from purchase
- Renewing residents get their renewal notice 30 days ahead of their registration expiration date.
The DMV does not look lightly on an expired tag – even if it was “just an oversight.” There is no grace period for renewing late. The DMV is required to charge you late fees for late renewals. Even first offenders caught with an expired tag can expect severe penalties, including tickets and fines. Some drivers may have their licenses suspended.
What if the at-Fault Driver Had an Expired Tag?
If the at-fault party was driving with an expired tag, you may have a claim through your own insurance policy. If a qualified attorney handles your claim, he or she can handle your case and help to minimize the damage.
Contact Our Firm for a Free Case Review
If you had a crash with an expired tag, it does not necessarily bar you from seeking compensation. There are multiple factors to consider. Set up your free case review with one of our licensed attorneys to learn about your potential legal options.
Contact our law firm today for your free case review. We have decades of experience and are prepared to fight for full compensation. We have staff available to take your call anytime, night or day. There are no upfront costs or fees to pay to get started or while we work on your case. If we represent you, we do not get paid unless we recover compensation for you.
Get A 100% Free Case Evaluation
From A Top-Rated Personal Injury Attorney
Call: (702) 707-5934 or Contact Us Online
Settlement / Auto Accident
Settlement / Tire Explosion
Settlement / Truck Accident
“After being in an accident my friend told me to call Bernstein and Poisson. A lawyer named Brian came to my home to meet with me and started my claim immediately. The legal team was extremely efficient, responded back to me quickly, listened to my concerns, and handled everything with speed and accuracy. Every step of the way was communicated. I received my settlement in 10 months’ time. I highly recommend using Berstein and Poisson. Thank you for helping get my life back on track.”